Shocking News: Felicia Day & Phil DeFranco Among Winners At 2013 IAWTV Awards

The International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV) Awards wrapped up last night after a cavalcade of digital video’s best and brightest showed up to accept their honors. After sifting through over 470 submitted web series, nominees were decided and eventually chosen in 33 different categories.

Among last night’s winners were animated legends “Red vs. Blue,” geek hero Chris Hardwick’s YouTube channel Nerdist and Felicia Day for her web series “The Flog.” Felicia Day winning a digital video-based award statue? (*pause for shocked gasps).

Interestingly enough, with the exception of Philip DeFranco and Grace Helbig of “Daily Grace,” most of this year’s IAWTV winners aren’t traditionally known as grassroots YouTube creators. One of this year’s biggest winners, “The Booth at the End,” was originally adapted for Canadian television and later distributed on Hulu. In addition, “H+: The Digital Series” took how the “Best Visual Effects” award, which isn’t all that surprising as it is produced by film director Bryan Singer.

Already, 2013 is looking to be the best year for digital video yet. One can only guess who will be this year’s breakout star, perhaps it will be … wait, I’m getting word from a time-traveling version of myself. It turns out Felicia Day will be receiving the lifetime achievement award while simultaneously winning every category including the brand new “McDonalds Presents: Mega Cool Best Time 100% Awesome Smile Power Lighting Hawk” award.

Check out a full list of the winners below.

Best Comedy Web Series: “Squaresville”
Best Drama Web Series: “Leap Year”
Best Hosted Taped Web Series: “Daily Grace”
Best Hosted Live Web Series: “What’s Trending with Shira Lazar”
Best Animated Web Series: “Red vs. Blue”
Best Documentary Web Series: “Prodigies”
Best Variety Web Series: “Rhett & Link”
Best News Web Series: “The Philip DeFranco Show”
Best Educational Web Series: “Engineer Your Space”
Best Online Channel: Nerdist Channel
Best Live Event: “Bill Maher: CrazyStupidPolitics”
Best Writing (Comedy): Matt Enlow, “Squaresville”
Best Writing (Drama): Christopher Kubasik, “The Booth at the End, Season 2”
Best Writing (Non-Fiction): Felicia Day, “The Flog”
Best Directing (Comedy): Sean Becker, “My Gimpy Life”
Best Directing (Drama): Tina Cesa Ward, “Anyone But Me”
Best Directing (Non-Fiction): Sean Becker, “The Flog”
Best Female Performance (Comedy): Teal Sherer, “My Gimpy Life”
Best Female Performance (Drama): Julia Stiles, “Blue”
Best Male Performance (Comedy): Jeff Lewis, “The Jeff Lewis 5-Minute Comedy Hour”
Best Male Performance (Drama): Xander Berkeley, “The Booth at the End, Season 2”
Best Ensemble Performance: “Squaresville”
Best Host (Taped): Grace Helbig, “Daily Grace”
Best Host (Live): Shira Lazar, “What’s Trending with Shira Lazar”
Best Cinematography: Brett Pawlak, “H+: The Digital Series”
Best Design: Eric Whitney, “Continuum”
Best Costume Design: “The League of S.T.E.A.M.”
Best Makeup/Special Effects: “The League of S.T.E.A.M.”
Best Visual Effects: “H+: The Digital Series”
Best Editing: Blake Calhoun, “Continuum”
Best Original Music: Rob Gokee, “Cost of Capital”
Best Supplemental Content: “Red vs. Blue”
Best Interactive/Social Media Experience: “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries”

Comments are closed.