Streamy Awards Announce Pre-Show Winners


The online video world is a big place, and one that depends on the talent and creativity thousands of individuals both in front of the camera and behind it. That’s why when the 4th Annual Streamy Awards set out to honor excellence in the industry they are left with one major problem: there are simply too many awards and not enough time. As a result, last night, the Streamys borrowed a trick from the Emmys and the Oscars, unveiling 33 lucky winners from a host of categories at a pre-show event in advance of Sundays live awards

It’s not unusual for award shows to load up their pre-shows with technical and creative categories. The people behind the scenes who write, edit and staff productions deserve to have their talents recognized, but their non-famous faces often don’t make the cut for a live  broadcast. The televised honors are usually reserved for the on-screen talent that audiences will immediately recognize. This year, however, the Streamys took the unusual step of naming winners in several high profile, on-camera categories ahead of the live broadcast. Awards for Best Actor in a Drama, Best Musical Artist, and Best Vine Comedian were all dolled out at last night’s event before the cameras rolled, or rather, before the live stream streamed.

In addition to the early honors, the Streamys also announced the first-ever recipients of the ICON Awards on Wednesday evening. Sponsored by Samsung, the ICON Awards recognize online video personalities in four separate influencer categories. Tyler Oakley received the inaugural Activism ICON Award recognizing his contributions to the Trevor Project, LGBT awareness, and anti-bullying campaigns, recording artist Pitbull was recognized with a Convergence ICON for his work at the intersection of traditional and digital entertainment, Shay Carl received an Entrepreneurship ICON recognizing his achievements career-building within the online video space, and finally beauty guru Michelle Phan received the Inspiration Icon for her trailblazing work as as a lifestyle and beauty pioneer. All four ICON recipients will be honored at a private ceremony tonight.

A full list of early Streamy Award recipients can be found below. Check it out to see how your favorites fared. The Streamy Awards will be live streamed on Sunday September 7th at 7:30pm PST and as always you can stick with NMR for coverage of all the winners, losers, and major upsets along the way.

4th Annual Streamy Award Pre-Show Winners

Channel, Show or Series – Overall

  • Best Companion (Channel, Show or Series) – Vandaveon and Mike (Key & Peele)
  • Best Non-Fiction or Reality (Channel, Show or Series) – Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee

Channel, Show or Series – Subject

  • Best Dance (Channel, Show or Series) – Jabbawockeez
  • Best Food and Cuisine (Channel, Show or Series) – Epic Meal Time
  • Best Health and Wellness (Channel, Show or Series) – Blogilates
  • Best Pranks (Channel, Show or Series) – Jack Vale
  • Best Science and Education (Channel, Show or Series) – Vsauce
  • Best Sports (Channel, Show or Series) – Red Bull


  • Best Animated (Channel, Show or Series) – RWBY
  • Best Indie (Channel, Show or Series) – Little Horribles
  • Best International (Channel, Show or Series) – Noob (France)


  • Best Actress in a Comedy – Mamrie Hart, You Deserve A Drink
  • Best Actress in a Drama – Ashley Clements, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries
  • Best Actor in a Comedy – David Milchard, Convos with My 2-Year-Old
  • Best Actor in a Drama – Joey Graceffa, Storytellers
  • Best Collaboration – Zach Galifianakis and President Barack Obama, Between Two Ferns


  • Best Cover Song – Pentatonix, Daft Punk Mashup (Daft Punk)
  • Best Music Video – Goku vs Superman, Epic Rap Battles of History
  • Best Musical Artist, Lindsey Stirling


  • Best Choreography – Mortal Kombat: Legacy II, Garrett Warren and Larnell Stovall
  • Best Cinematography – Devinsupertramp, Devin Graham
  • Best Costume Design – Epic Rap Battles of History, Sulai Lopez
  • Best Directing – Video Game High School, Matt Arnold and Freddie Wong
  • Best Editing – Kids React, Dan Seibert, Justin Reager, Benny Fine, Rafi Fine, and Jordan Towles
  • Best Original Score – RWBY, Jeff Williams
  • Best Visual and Special Effects – Action Movie Kid, Daniel Hashimoto
  • Best Writing – Epic Rap Battles of History, Nice Peter, EpicLLOYD, Zach Sherwin, Dante Cimadamore, and Mike Betette


  • Best Vine Comedian – DeStorm Power
  • Best Vine Creativity – Zach King 

Campaign or Event

  • Best Brand Campaign – Need For Speed: Ken Block’s Gymkhana Six (Need For Speed)
  • Best Live Event – #Tubeathon 2013
  • Best Public Service – YouTube Stars Talk Health Care at the White House


  • Best Television Show – Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon